Walk in grace

“As you therefore have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him.” Colossians 2:6

Do you ever have times when you are reading Scripture and it feels mindless, boring, or, otherwise just filling in time? I was reading in Colossians and it was one of those times, and then the Holy Spirit stopped me at this verse, and I could go no further. I just love when Scripture comes to life and speaks to us personally. The Lord asked me, “Do you remember how you first came to know Me?” Of course! The Lord reminded me that I wasn’t particularly seeking Him. Salvation was all His doing, His initiative, His kindness and skill in arranging my hearing of the gospel in a way I could understand it. Grace means God’s unmerited and undeserved favor. And for each of us our salvation comes by grace, not by works.

As I meditated on this verse, I had to ask myself, “Am I living in the same way that I first received Jesus?” Well, this made me think long and hard about motives of the heart and the actions that flow from it. Why do we start our new life in complete grace and then, somehow feel as if we have to work real hard to keep it? Or, we start off in grace and of grace and then feel as if God is never very pleased with us, and then we end up trying to please Him out of our own strength. That weird motive of the heart never brings peace or joy in life. I am challenged and motivated to walk in the same way I received Christ. May we all be occupied in life in the same manner that we first received Jesus – His initiative, His kindness, skill, grace, and favor infusing every aspect of our lives!

Sometimes the patterns in our lives get old, worn-out and routine. But when God begins a new life in us, everything shifts. We were flowing one direction in life (not a good direction either) and when God came in, it all changed. It happened when we least expected it. At first it was easy, we knew grace active in us. So often life cuts us up and we get lost or confused. The Lord always brings us back to grace – it is our home. And in the end, the design our lives make speak of His work, His mercy, His favor and working. He puts our lives together in such a way that makes sense. Rest in what Christ has already done for you and allow Him to show you the way through life, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

