Are you driving in the fog of life?

Early morning lesson: I had to drop someone off for a ride one morning this week. We left at 6 am and I had not been driving that early for quite a while. We’ve been having pretty thick fog around here lately and driving through the fog was cool and a bit nerve-wracking at the same time, in the pitch dark of before sunrise. When I drove home, I was thinking how like life the fog is. So many times in life we feel like we’re in the fog: hard to see, not sure what’s coming at you, slowing down just in case you run into something you did not see. Perhaps the drive you are on in life, is taking you places you never saw before or never imagined possible. The Lord spoke to me through the fog, “Even though the way is murky and you feel unsure, you are still moving forward, aren’t you?” Wow – then I saw clearly that no matter how our circumstances are on any given day, God is the leader, the shepherd, the one moving us here and there. He is well able to guide us, be our driver, be our everything. His light is piercing through any fog we might encounter.
Perhaps the fog is meant for us to slow down because otherwise our nature tends to rush forward and run vs walk. So it’s good to slow down. It’s not a failure if we can’t keep up with our fast paced world. In fact, God’s people should be full of rest and confidence in His love for us, not placing our confidence in anything else. Really, if we were to see all that God sees, we’d know that we’re always in the fog compared to the clear skies He always has! Lean on His navigation system, lean on His Word, lean on His ability to get us where we need to be. And if it continues to be thick fog, just keep moving forward trusting in His arm, His strength, His guidance! It’s not foggy for God.
Psalm 139 says,“Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence? If I ascend to heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in Sheol (the nether world, the place of the dead), behold, You are there. If I take the wings of the dawn, if I dwell in the remotest part of the sea, even there Your hand will lead me, and Your right hand will take hold of me. If I say, “Surely the darkness will cover me, and the night will be the only light around me,” even the darkness is not dark to You and conceals nothing from You, but the night shines as bright as the day; darkness and light are alike to You.”
In John 8:12 Jesus said, “I am the Light of the world. He who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.” So put your heart to rest today believer, that God is with you in the fog of life, even if the way seems darker now than it did yesterday. Trust Him to work it out for you, for the battle is the Lord’s. Romans 8:28 is still true for us today. And we know [with great confidence] that God [who is deeply concerned about us] causes all things to work together [as a plan] for good for those who love God, to those who are called according to His plan and purpose.” Receive His guidance. He is the light that can cut through the fog in your life. He will lead you skillfully, like the Good Shepherd He is!
Leave a Reply

