God’s heart for the church service

Consider this post as the Lord speaking to the church. “I love My church so much. You are My bride and I want to speak to you about Sunday worship. I love all the effort and practice you put into worship. But there is something I want you to hear: I don’t need all that. I said in my Word through David in Psalm 51: “I do not delight in sacrifice, I am not pleased with a burnt offering. My sacrifices are a broken spirit. A broken spirit and contrite heart I will not despise.” So often, you come to church every week and your worship becomes like a sacrifice.

I see the hours that go into planning and executing your services – sometimes at the cost of your health and the relationships in your family. Have I required this of you? At times you are doing the same thing My people did under the old covenant. They thought sacrifices brought them closer to Me. And at that point in history, the sacrificial system was needed to cover sins for a season. But now that Jesus has come, the perfect sacrifice, there is no more need for any sacrifice. Even when a sacrifice was needed to cover sin then, it was never my true desire but only a shadow until the substance came. Sacrifice pointed to Jesus as the fulfillment of My plan. Sometimes, not all the time, but sometimes your worship services have become like a sacrifice on an altar I didn’t ask for. Jesus was the perfect sacrifice for all your sins. There is no more need for sacrifice.

Oh, my children. You come together hurting and you leave your gatherings hurting still. This is not pleasing to Me. It was My plan and still is, that you minister to each other. Some people are afraid to ask for what they need and want. You feel worship is a prerequisite for asking Me anything. Ask for what you need. Don’t try to earn the answer doing this or that for Me. My Son Jesus healed people – He didn’t ask for a worship service before healing. Look in my word and see how He treated hurting people. He honored the faith of those who cried out by the side of the road, unashamed of their pain, and not afraid of what people would think if they blurted out their needs. Everyone is trying so hard to be polite and yet they go away from services empty.

Those in leadership have as many (if not more) needs. There is plenty of Me to go around. Do not hinder anyone from sharing what his or her needs are. Jesus told you this in John 13, “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this, all men will know that you are My disciples if you have love for one another.”

I say to you through Matthew 24, “the love of many has grown cold.” The hurting sits among you. Some do not come to church anymore. Do as I did when I was with you. Go to them – don’t wait for them to come to you. Many of you come each week with something in your heart against others. Through Matthew 5 I say, “If you have anything against your brother, go make it right with them.” It’s how you love others that pleases me – that is real worship. Yes, singing cleanses and washes the world off you each week, but if your worship through music does not encourage you to love others more, it doesn’t please Me. I left My Spirit on earth when I went back to heaven. My Spirit dwells in people now. This was my plan from the start. If you want to love and worship Me, love each other in word and deed. Teach your children how to love others. I reside in relationships. If you desire to worship Me, love one another.

Put away some of your church activities if need be, and call a friend who’s suffering. Go visit them, pray with them – do whatever I lead you to do for them. If you can’t take care of the family of God, how will the world ever know how very much I love them? Interrupt your services sometimes and tell Me what your needs are. I long to meet your needs. I long to lavish you with My love – but you are often so very busy. Are you busy with things I have asked you to do? Oh, please open your ears and hearts and listen to Me. My words are ones of love, not judgment. I alone cast out fear. So many of you are fearful right now. Please, do not let anyone leave your services hurting. Let Me minister to you. Be open to this and you will find strength and love to meet each other’s needs. Realize this is the safety I created the church for. Don’t let your love grow cold and weary. All of you have needs only I can meet.

Through Psalm 127 I say afresh: “Unless I build the house, you labor in vain. Unless I guard the city your watchmen keep awake in vain. It is vain (useless) for you to rise up early and retire late, to eat the bread of painful labors, for I give to My beloved, sleep.” (Or, even in your sleep.) Listen to my love for you and purpose to do only what I say. Matthew 11 declares, “Come to Me all who are weary and heavy-laden and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart; and you shall find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My load is light.”

Leave a comment